Walt Disney Records and Fairfax Classics are releasing complete restored soundtracks from ALL (yes every single one) 75 Silly Symphony shorts totaling out to over eight hours of classic Disney music with THE SILLY SYMPHONY COLLECTION. The new set will be available to pre-order at the D23 EXPO and each person who pre-orders will receive a free limited edition 10” vinyl single featuring “The Skeleton Dance” on the A-side and “Three Little Pigs” on the B-side.

THE SILLY SYMPHONY COLLECTION will include a free digital download with purchase of the box set and will retail for $399.98.

Additional news and updates can be found at http://www.sillysymphonycollection.com.


BURBANK, CA  –Less than a year after Mickey Mouse’s debut in Steamboat Willie, the Walt Disney Studio embarked on a decade-long series of music-driven shorts whose breakthroughs would forever change the direction of animation and would have a massive impact on popular culture. The 75 cartoons – called Silly Symphonies – pioneered “three-strip” Technicolor, introduced Donald Duck, and created a pop music phenomenon with “Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Wolf?” They won seven Academy Awards® for Best Short Subject (Cartoon) between 1932 and 1939. 

The Silly Symphony Collection is a first-of-its-kind box set from Walt Disney Records and Fairfax Classics featuring the complete restored soundtracks from all 75 Silly Symphony shorts from 1929-1939, with more than 8 hours of music over 16 vinyl LPs.

The limited edition collection is housed in 8 tip-on gatefold jackets with original animation art in a beautifully constructed foil-stamped and numbered slipcase. Soundtracks of Disney classics such as The Skeleton Dance by Carl Stalling, Three Little Pigs by Frank Churchill, and Donald Duck’s debut The Wise Little Hen by Leigh Harline will be presented in full for the first time ever on record. Each gatefold jacket includes detailed liner notes for every short by Disney historians J.B. Kaufman and Russell Merritt, authors of the definitive book on the series, Walt Disney’s Silly Symphonies: A Companion to the Classic Cartoon Series.

Kaufman adds, “It’s well known that the Silly Symphonies were built around music, but most of us can’t watch the films without being distracted by the visuals. This set is a brilliant idea, isolating the sound so that we can appreciate, for the first time, just how good the music is. I think it will change the way people look at these classic cartoons.”

Pre-order for the box set will begin at D23 EXPO: The Ultimate Disney Fan Event, August 14th through August 16th, 2015 in Anaheim, California, and will continue online at Disney Music Emporium (www.sillysymphonycollection.com) on August 17th at 8:00 am PDT.  Pre-orders will ship to arrive in time for the holidays.

The Silly Symphony Collection will include a free digital download with purchase of the box set and will retail for $399.98. Each guest who pre-orders The Silly Symphony Collection will receive a free limited edition 10” vinyl single featuring “The Skeleton Dance” on the A side and “Three Little Pigs” on the B side.

J.B. Kaufman and Russell Merritt, along with Restoration Producer Randy Thornton will be on hand at D23 EXPO 2015 signing The Silly Symphony Collection 10” single on Friday, August 14th and Sunday, August 16th.

A set of 3 limited edition Silly Symphony postcards are being handed out in various locations throughout the D23 EXPO 2015 and fans can follow Fairfax Classics on Twitter (@fairfaxclassics) to find out how to obtain them.

Noted documentary director Steve Elkins has produced a short film that explores the historical significance of the Silly Symphonies and the making of The Silly Symphony Collection box set.  The Silly Symphony documentary features J.B. Kaufman and Russell Merritt, as well as Dave Bossert, Head of Special Projects at Walt Disney Animation Studios and Grammy®-winning producer Randy Thornton from Disney Music Group.

The Silly Symphony Collection Track List:

Volume 1: 1929•1930

  • The Skeleton Dance
  • El Terrible Toreador
  • Springtime
  • Hell’s Bells
  • The Merry Dwarfs
  • Summer
  • Autumn
  • Cannibal Capers
  • Night
  • Frolicking Fish
  • Arctic Antics
  • Midnight in a Toy Shop

Volume 2: 1930•1931

  • Monkey Melodies
  • Winter
  • Playful Pan
  • Birds of a Feather
  • Mother Goose Melodies
  • The China Plate
  • The Busy Beavers
  • The Cat’s Out
  • Egyptian Melodies
  • The Clock Store
  • The Spider and the Fly

Volume 3: 1931•1933

  • The Fox Hunt
  • The Ugly Duckling
  • The Bird Store
  • The Bears and Bees
  • Just Dogs
  • Flowers and Trees
  • Bugs in Love
  • King Neptune
  • Babes in the Woods
  • Santa’s Workshop
  • Birds In the Spring
  • Father Noah’s Ark

Volume 4: 1933•1934

  • Three Little Pigs
  • Old King Cole
  • Lullaby Land
  • The Pied Piper
  • The China Shop
  • The Night Before Christmas
  • Grasshopper and the Ants
  • The Big Bad Wolf

Volume 5: 1934•1935

  • Funny Little Bunnies
  • The Flying Mouse
  • The Wise Little Hen
  • Peculiar Penguins
  • The Goddess of Spring
  • The Tortoise and the Hare
  • The Golden Touch
  • The Robber Kitten

Volume 6: 1935•1936

  • Water Babies
  • The Cookie Carnival
  • Who Killed Cock Robin?
  • Music Land
  • Three Orphan Kittens
  • Cock c’ the Walk
  • Three Little Wolves
  • Elmer Elephant

Volume 7: 1935•1937

  • Broken Toys
  • Toby Tortoise Returns
  • Three Blind Mouseketeers
  • The Country Cousin
  • Mother Pluto
  • More Kittens
  • Woodland Café
  • Little Hiawatha

Volume 8: 1937•1939

  • The Old Mill
  • Wynken, Blynken and Nod
  • Moth and the Flame
  • Merbabies
  • Farmyard Symphony
  • Mother Goose Goes Hollywood
  • The Practical Pig
  • The Ugly Duckling

Additional news and updates can be found at www.sillysymphonycollection.com.

For more information on Walt Disney Records’ releases become a fan at Facebook.com/disneymusic or follow us at Twitter.com/disneymusic.  For more information about D23 EXPO 2015, please visit D23EXPO.com.  For more information on Fairfax Classics become a fan at www.facebook.com/fairfaxrecordings or follow us at twitter.com/fairfaxclassics.