Disney CEO Bob Iger surprised D23 EXPO guests with an additional honoree this morning – none other than Captain Jack Sparrow himself, Johnny Depp. Danny Elfman, George Lucas and Susan Lucci were among the recipients present to accept this year’s DISNEY LEGENDS AWARD. Assembled once again at the D23 EXPO in the Anaheim Convention Center, thousands of fans were present for the ceremony this morning which was hosted by ABC personality and AFV host Tom Bergeron.

2015 Disney Legends

  • George Lucas
  • Danny Elfman
  • Susan Lucci
  • Andreas Deja
  • Eyvind Earle
  • Julie Reihm Casaletto
  • Carson Van Osten
  • George Bodenheimer
  • Johnny Depp

Each Disney Legend recipient received a two-foot-tall bronze Disney Legends sculpture that signifies the imagination, creativity, and magic they have brought to the Walt Disney Company. At the end of the event, a special handprint ceremony captured the hands of the recipients to be turned into bronzed prints that will be displayed at the Walt Disney Studios headquarters in Burbank.

The ceremony also featured performances by Disney Legend Richard Sherman, Broadway stars Ashley Brown, Josh Strickland and James Monroe Iglehart, and pop artist Ne-Yo.

Including this year’s honorees, a total of 257 Disney Legends have been named including Robin Williams, Tim Allen, Julie Andrews, Howard Ashman, Regis Philbin, Annette Funicello, Peter Jennings, Angela Lansbury, Steve Martin, Alan Menken, Hayley Mills, Fess Parker, Sir Tim Rice, Dick Van Dyke and Barbara Walters.