LIGHTYEAR dropped a new trailer and with it several announcements including key voice cast that includes Keke Palmer, Dale Soules and Taika Waititi and more plus a ready-to-inspire score by Michael Giacchino. A new poster and stills were also released.


LIGHTYEAR drops teaser trailer, poster, stills ahead of Jun. 17 launch

Chris Evans voices the title star and is joined by a voice cast that includes Keke Palmer, Dale Soules and Taika Waititi as a group of ambitious recruits. Peter Sohn voices Buzz’s robot companion, Sox, and the cast also includes the voices of Uzo Aduba, James Brolin, Mary McDonald-Lewis, Efren Ramirez and Isiah Whitlock Jr.

Award-winning composer Michael Giacchino, who’s behind the scores for the upcoming film “The Batman,” as well as “Spider-Man: No Way Home,” is on board to score “Lightyear.” Giacchino has a long history with Pixar; he won an Oscar, Golden Globe and GRAMMY for the original score in “Up.” His other Pixar credits include “The Incredibles,” “Ratatouille,” “Cars 2,” “Inside Out,” “Coco” and “Incredibles 2,” among others. The Lightyear Original Motion Picture Soundtrack from Walt Disney Records will be available on June 17, 2022.

LIGHTYEARLIGHTYEAR is sci-fi action-adventure that presents the definitive origin story of Buzz Lightyear—the hero who inspired the toy—introducing the legendary Space Ranger who would win generations of fans.

Annie Award-winning director and veteran Pixar animator Angus MacLane, who co-directed 2016’s “Finding Dory,” helms LIGHTYEAR. Galyn Susman (“Toy Story That Time Forgot” short) produces.


See it for Yourself

LIGHTYEAR soars into theaters June 17, 2022.